HEC ApprovedPakistanPunjabPunjab UniversityUniversitiesUniversity of the Punjab

University of the Punjab

University of The Punjab, Lahore - Pakistan


The University of the Punjab (Urdu, Punjabi: جامعہ پنجاب), also referred to as University of Punjab or Punjab University , is a public, research, coeducational higher education institution located in Lahore, Punjab, Pakistan. Punjab University is the oldest public university in Pakistan. With multiple campuses in Gujranwala, Jhelum, and Khanspur, the university was formally established by the British Government after convening the first meeting for establishing higher education institutions in October 1882 at Simla. Punjab University was the fourth university to be established by the British colonial authorities in the subcontinent; the first three universities were established in other parts of the Britishruled Subcontinent.

Table of Contents

At the University of Punjab there are 45,678 students 27,907-morningg students, 16,552 evening students, and 1,219 diploma students). The university has 13 faculties of which there are 83 academic departments, research centers, and institutes. Punjab University has ranked first among large-sized multiple-faculty universities by the HEC in 2012. There are also two Nobel Laureates among the university’s alumni and former staff. Additionally, the university is also a member of the Association of Commonwealth Universities of the United Kingdom. In the recently issued rankings of Asian universities by QS World Universities Rankings, the university jumped from the 232nd to 193rd position, improving its position by 39 places. It ranks 251–300 in Agriculture and Forestry, 501–550 in Physics & Astronomy, and 501–550 in Chemistry according to QS World University Rankings by Subject 2019. In the 2022-2023 edition, it ranked 801 worldwide.

Also Check: Open Door Russian Scholarships Project

University of the Punjab, Lahore – Pakistan

The University of Punjab also known as Punjab University Lahore established in Lahore in 1882. It is the largest and oldest seat of higher learning in Pakistan. It was the first to be established in the sub-continent in a Muslim-majority area.

Located in the historical and culturally alive city of Lahore, this university has played a leading role in spreading higher education in the country. The University strives to provide a conducive environment for the pursuit of academic activities. On account of its highly qualified and internationalized faculty, pleasant environment, and low tuition fees, the university remains the institution of the first choice for students.

The University comprises five campuses, 19 Faculties, 08 Constituent Colleges, and 138 departments, centers, and institutes. The University also has 658 affiliated colleges. It has 991 full-time/regular and 300 part-time faculty members involved in teaching/research and 49,520 on-campus students. (29,588 Morning, 18,838 Evening, and 1,094 Diploma students).

Allama Iqbal Campus is named after the great South Asian thinker and poet-philosopher. Its Indo-Islamic architecture houses Colleges of Art and Design, IT, and Pharmacy along with the most historic Oriental College, the first avatar of the University which was established in 1870. It is located on Mall Road in Lahore.

Quaid-e-Azam Campus, located in an area spread over 1800 acres of lush green landscape, was designed by the renowned Greek Architect A.C. Doxiadis who also designed Islamabad. This campus is the center of the academic and administrative activities of the university. A canal dividing the academic blocks from the student lodgings adds to the beauty of the Campus.

University of the Punjab also has a summer campus at Khanaspur located at a height of about 7,000 feet in the Himalayan range near Ayubia. This campus, in addition to providing research facilities, is also used as a recreational center for the faculty and the students.

University of the Punjab has also established its sub-campuses at Gujranwala and Jhelum. Major disciplines at these campuses include Business Administration, Commerce, Law, and Information Technology. Newer disciplines are being added progressively to these campuses.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button